And I’m back. And, as always, there’s lots to talk about. But let’s just start here.

So possibly one of the greatest things about living in the DC area, once you get past the culture, the history, etc. is Zips dry cleaning. For those of you unfamiliar with Zips (I think they have them in the Philly area as well), anything you want cleaned at Zips is $1.99. Suit? $1.99. Formal ballgown? $1.99. You have to pay cash up front, but it is so worth it when you are, say, fifi, and want to get all of your work clothes cleaned so you can put them in storage and end up with around 70 items because, let’s face it, you love clothes (and twinsets count as 2 pieces people). 

In anticipation of moving to the land where Zips does not exist (seriously people. The recession is hitting Cleveland hard. We need $1.99 dry cleaning here. There is a market), I made sure that everything that needed dry cleaning got dry cleaned in DC (and before you think I am a crazy dry cleaning nut – as the boyfriend suspects – please know that while I heart Zips, I am not crazy about dry cleaning chemicals in general and so wash everything that can be washed (i.e. most sweaters) and wear things as much as possible before sending them in). However, because of the timeline I was working with, I returned home with four items that needed to be dry cleaned: my lovely long black Grecian-style Calvin Klein – see below for an (admittedly bad because my hair is partially in the way) picture of the back – dress that I wore to the graduation ball:

Looking Over the Balcony

Isn’t it pretty? Anyway, moving on: I also had my silk wrap from said ball (both needed to be dry cleaned because of the downpour we got caught in post-ball), and my cute little two-piece J. Crew suit (think Jackie O styling – sadly no picture because all the pictures are me in my graduation robes). So four things which would cost less than $8 in DC. Would anyone like to guess what I just paid to retrieve them, after factoring in the $4 worth of coupons I hunted around for online because I knew that dry cleaning would be more expensive here?*

Anyone?

$29.04. $29.04.

Holy crap. I am speechless. And obviously still stewing. 

*And yes, I should have found out the prices up front, but I picked this dry cleaner because it is the dry cleaner that my friend uses and considering that she is currently supporting herself and her husband while he goes to law school and I know that she is pretty frugal, I did NOT see this coming.

