So the boyfriend and I are headed to DC this weekend for my friend Hope’s wedding and I’m taking advantage of the opportunity to be back in DC to see my hairstylist and get my haircut. I’ve been wanting to get it cut for awhile, but put it off until post-graduation, post-grad. ball. I tend to get bored with my hair style if it stays the same for too long, so I’ve been thinking about chopping a significant amount off, although as the date of haircut approaches I have been having some second thoughts. I was inspired by Meghann’s post this morning to throw the decision out to the internets and see what comes back.

Right now, the plan is to go from something like this:

gisele_bundchento something like this:

plumor this:

Gwyneth Paltrow

Yes, yes. I know I am months behind on this trend. But I heart it. ANYWAY, of course, this will mean more time spent straightening and styling because I generally cannot be bothered to blow my hair out every morning and usually throw it up in a ponytail, but I think this hair would look cute wavy too.

And, really, even if I hate it, I’m lucky in that my hair grows very quickly so I can do things like this and not really suffer long term effects. That’s why I was able to enter into the whole Fall 2009 bangs experiment so cavalierly – I knew when I was tired of them (I lasted roughly 2 1/2 months), I could get rid of them relatively quickly. The last time I had them really cut was right before Thanksgiving and I have had get-rid-of-the-raggedy ends trims ever since and they are essentially chin level right now. So we have good precedent and if I hate the cut/length, my hair should be back to “normal” by the time I start work in November. Win-win all around.

The only objector is the boyfriend, but considering that he ignores my pleas to not go to the $10 barber who cuts his hair WAY too short and makes the boyfriend look like he has a widow’s peak (quite the feat, considering, he does not actually have a widow’s peak) gets no say on the style end.

Hmmm…speaking of which, the boyfriend may actually be due for a haircut. I think I will call and see if there is an opening when I am getting my haircut…

