Okay – here’s my post. Sorry it’s kind of late in the day!
Hope all is well,
f
________
Hi all! I’m fifi from fifiandtherealworld.wordpress.com and Stacey has kindly let me hijack her blog today in honor of the 5th 20sb Blog Swap. Lately, my life has been pretty consumed with studying for the NY Bar (T-1 week….AHHHHH!!!!), but I’ve still found some time to take breaks from studying and enjoy the things below. Some of them aren’t necessarily new things, (see: the last movie I saw in theaters), but they are new to me and things that I highly recommend you check out. So without further ado, I present you with the top 10 things I am loving right now, Summer 2009 version:
1) yogadownloads
2) amazing grass
3) burt’s bees all natural shampoo
4) The Proposal
5) Time-Traveler’s Wife
6) Oregon Trail
7) The preview for Julie & Julia
8) Drop Dead Diva
9) Top Chef Masters
10) music!
Another Heart Calls – All-American Rejects
Break Me Out – the Rescues
The Chain – Ingrid Michaelson
Fix It – Ryan Adams and the Cardinals
Good Arms vs. Bad Arms – Frightened Rabbit
Kids – MGMT
The Curse of Curves – Cute Is What We AIm For
Hook – Blues Traveller
Man in the Mirror – Michael Jackson
Dinner Last Night-O.A.R.
Such Great Heights – Iron & Wine
Boys With Girlfriends – Meiko
Walcott – Vampire Weekend
Meet Me Halfway – Black-Eyed Peas
Stay Beautiful – Taylor Swift

So for the blog swap, Stacey and I thought it would be fun to write about some things we are into right now since we both enjoy hearing about new things and getting recommendations for things to try out. Some of the things on my list aren’t necessarily new things, (see: the last movie I saw in theaters), but they are new to me and things that I highly recommend you check out. So without further ado, I present you with the top 10 things I am loving right now, Summer 2009 version:

1) yogadownload.com

logo

I feel very strongly that practicing yoga has helped me not only to become physically stronger over the last 2 years, but has helped me to just feel better and healthier generally. Obviously cardio and lifting are two keys elements of any exercise program, but all too often, we overlook the importance of stretching and core exercises. People think yoga is easy and “cheater” exercise, but once they try it, they realize what a good workout it is. And of course, there’s nothing like a good class to help you feel relaxed and ready to take on anything (the yoga glow). I primarily practice a form of yoga called Ashtanga, but it can be fun to mix it up with other types of yoga in order to get different benefits or to really focus on one part of the body.

That’s where yogadownload.com comes in. They offer audio downloadable classes with pdfs with pictures of all the poses so you can follow along visually if you’re not familiar with a pose and they have all kinds of different classes at different levels and lasting different amounts of time. If you can only squeeze in 20 minutes of yoga, they have a class for you. My favorites are the hip-opening flow series.

Not only can you do these classes anywhere, but they are also super-affordable, ranging anywhere from $2 – $6. Not only is this a great price considering the cost of most studio classes is twice that, BUT you also get to keep the class forever once you download it, making it a great investment. If you’re not sure the audio classes are for you, they also offer a handful of free trial classes, so there’s really no reason not to check out the site!

Of course, doing yoga at home is never going to be a perfect substitute for doing it in a studio with a certified teacher, but if you’re looking to squeeze some yoga into an already busy schedule or if you just want to supplement your regular practice, yogadownload.com is a great option.

2) Amazing Grass

08082008_03I’m always looking for a way to get some extra vitamins and good stuff into my diet, so when this stuff starting popping up around the blog world, I had to check it out.  It’s packed full of antioxidants, probiotics, beneficial herbs, and, of course, GREENS specially designed to help you feel better and give you more energy. It’s a little intimidating at first – do NOT under any circumstances just mix it with water and try to drink (I speak from experience when I say that that is not a good plan), but mix it with some milk and maybe a banana and some berries and you have a great, super-healthy, and filling way to start your day.

3) burt’s bees all natural shampoo

200I try to exercise every day, which means that I tend to wash my hair every day. Which, as you know, especially when coupled with blow-drying and straightening, is not great for your hair and I’ve definitely always noticed that in that, I tend to shed A LOT (I have a lot of hair, but I also have very fine hair). I get phone calls from the boyfriend the point of which is pretty much: “Do you know where I found your hair NOW?” But anyway, to try and combat that, I started doing some research which led me to talk of parabens and “No-Poo” movements. I’m not ready to jump on the no shampoo bandwagon, but the paraben-free thing seemed like something to check out. So after doing some more research about brands and cost, I settled on the Burt’s Bees above and, I have to say, I LOVE it. My hair looks healthier and shinier and it’s not nearly as dry. I also love the scent. So this gets a big “WIN” in my book.

4) The Proposal

proposalWell, this just shows you how much I’ve gotten out this summer. However, if you haven’t seen this yet and you’re looking for a romantic comedy, I would HIGHLY recommend seeing The Proposal. Sandra Bullock is great as always – I love her facial expressions/reactions – and there’s really just one word for Ryan Reynolds and that is NOM. Enough said.

Oh, and the supporting cast is pretty great too. This is a movie I would absolutely spend $8 or whatever ridiculous price movie tickets are these days to see.

5) The Time Traveler’s Wife

200px-TimeTravellersWife

I know, I know – I’m definitely late to the party on this one too. I’ve seen this book floating around for what feels like years now, but never really felt compelled to pick it up. That changed when I saw the preview for the movie. Now, I do adore Rachel McAdams (Who doesn’t love The Notebook? Anyone? I thought not.) and that’s probably part of it, but I’m also a sucker for a good love story. I’ve not finished this yet – what with the whole studying thing, I only can grab a few extra minutes for pleasure reading here and there, but what I’ve read so far, I love. Unless something changes drastically between now and the end of the book, this is definitely a book that will find a place on the permanent fifi bookshelf and will probably be reread many times over the years.

6) Oregon Trail

61ysjzcwx6l._sl160_

I am not really one for games on my iPod Touch. I have your sudoko and your block breaker, but overall, I’ve yet to find one that I feel compelled to play unless I am somewhere where there is absolutely nothing.else.to.do. But this? This is clearly why my iPod Touch was invented because it is quite possibly the Greatest Thing Ever. Start playing and then just try to stop. It is that addictive. First off, who didn’t love playing Oregon Trail on Apple IIs in grade school computer class? Second, the graphics and the game play are awesome (I could fish all day, it is that fun).

I have been playing this at the gym while on the elliptical. I’ve been using the boyfriend’s family as characters because they are the only five person family I can think of. You will all be proud to know, however, that I have yet to give into temptation and allow the boyfriend’s sister to be carried off by an eagle/left behind by the wagon train/succumb to cholera. The boyfriend did get eaten by a snake once (great graphic, by the way), but that couldn’t be avoided.

7) Summer Music

51Gt7MJuvxL._SL500_AA240_
412oCwcWqmL._SL500_AA240_


So right now “Meet Me Halfway” by the Black Eyed Peas and “Break Me Out” by the Rescues are pretty much tied for Best Song of Summer ’09 in my head. Both have the happy upbeat vibe you associate with a summer hit and both are so insanely catchy that once you listen to them once you will go around hearing them in your head for the rest of the day (although that might not be a good thing… 🙂 )

8) Drop Dead Diva

DDD-621x275

Okay people. Seriously. How cute is this show? Although clearly you have to take the premise with a grain of salt (I love the people on the internets nitpicking that the main character has all Jane’s brains with all Deb’s memories/personality – it is a fantasy!) and the first episode felt a little too much like a Legally Blond rip-off, both episodes so far have been well-written, funny, and overall entertaining, which is really all you can ask for from a show in general, much less a summer fluff show. This show has been upgraded to DVR status in the fifi household.

Of course, I am also insanely jealous of the main character whenever she has a flash of legal knowledge/brilliance because a) she clearly knows more about the law than me and b) I would kill to have those come next week, but then I remind myself that it is a show and it is fake (see above) and I calm down (as much as anyone can calm down when the Bar is right around the corner). I will be so happy when it is next week and I can be normal again. If you are reading this and thinking I’m nuts, well, I don’t blame you, but also don’t go to law school.

9) Top Chef Masters

tom-chef-masters-bios

I am a pretty avid follower of the regular season of Top Chef (the boyfriend knows that I will absolutely not pick up the phone when it’s on) and I was definitely excited for this show to see what these famous and extremely accomplished chefs would do with the challenges and the twists that make the regular season so fun to watch. The thing that makes this show even better than the regular version is that all the famous cheftestants all seem really happy to be on the show and seem to be having a lot of fun with the cooking and hanging out with the other chefs, whereas sometimes the regular contestants can get a little too bogged down in interpersonal drama (He-Who-Shall-Not-Be-Named-Who-Won-Last-Season, I’m looking at you). I know some people aren’t a fan of Kelly, but I think she could actually contribute more if they let her, and I’m actually enjoying her more than I enjoyed Padma (“I.SPIT.OUT.YOUR.FOOD”) last season. And since Padma is apparently leaving for greener pastures, I wouldn’t mind seeing Kelly as a judge on the real thing.

Although I think the critics’ panel could have been handled better (considering that the NY Times is kind of the holy grail of restaurant reviews and there are lots of former NY Times critics floating around – Ruth Reichl and Mimi Sheraton for example, I’m surprised the Times wasn’t represented on the panel) and it’s a little boring that generally the chef who wins the QuickFire wins the whole thing each week, overall this has been a tasty treat this summer. Since we’re bearing down on the end of the season, look for some jumbo Bravo marathons leading up to the finale and get all caught up!

10) The Essie Neon Collection

product_thumb-2product_thumb-1product_thumb


product_thumb-3

Okay, how fun and sherbert-y are these colors for summer? The Bar.Bri people tell us to relax on Monday to gear up for Tuesday and Wednesday so I am headed straight to my favorite nail place for a pedicure and when I get there, I am beelining it for the purple. I think it’s going to look fantastic and fresh with the slight summer glow I’ve managed to pick up, despite spending 12 hours a day inside studying.