So if you follow me on twitter, you know that I found out yesterday that I passed the New York Bar (insert cheering, jumping up and down, screams of joy, etc.). This means, of course, amongst other things that I get to keep my job and can start chipping away at those law school loans. But that all is really another story for another post.

Instead, let us discuss how I celebrated passing the Bar. I’m sure you’re thinking it involved shots. And it did, if a shot of NyQuil before I crawled into bed counts. Because apparently I am old and LAME.

This was supposed to be an awesome week of getting to know new co-workers and fun. Instead, when I got on the train Tuesday morning, I found myself out for the count. What had been a couple of coughs Monday night was now full fledged hacking fests on the train. I could barely get off the train my body ached so much. I thought it was the flu, possibly of the porcine variety (and weren’t my co-workers just going to LOVE me?).

But then I took some more medicine, got a good night’s sleep, and felt a million times better. Except for one, minor detail. My throat is burning with the fire of Hades and I cannot swallow without said fires rushing up the sides of my face. Oh tonsils, I love you so.

Of course, that is my self diagnosis based on the fact that I have had tonsil flare ups before. They don’t happen very often and are usually triggered by something else (example: when I had my nose fixed after I broke it in high school – no I did not have a nose job! – the anesthesiologist scraped my tonsils with the tube and they got infected. I have never known such burning searing throat pain). If I had to guess this time around, I think it might have something to do with the fact that I had a little too much to drink on Halloween and ended up throwing up (no judgment! However, it is of note that I normally have a cast iron stomach and have thrown up less than ten times in.my.entire,life so it is quite possible I brought this on myself*). So I think that probably did not make the tonsils very happy and coupled with the 24 hour bug I had earlier in the week and the hacking cough that went with it and all the germs THAT was spreading around, the tonsils were just F this shit. Payback’s a bitch (OF COURSE my body parts have personalities. Yours don’t?).

Anyway, I realized last night that the throat thing was not getting better and was likely not going to go away on its own and that I should deal with this before I spent another night laying awake in bed because my throat hurts so much it makes me want to cry.

However, there really aren’t any good options. I didn’t have a primary care physician while I was here because I could go to the student health clinic. I also had a car then. All the urgent care clinics in the area, including the CVS option, are all drive-to only (take a minute to consider DC populations for a minute and then wonder if this isn’t intentional). That said, I did finally find one place in Dupont.

The place was a dump, but the nurse practioner seemed nice and competant enough. Of course, she spent about five minutes with me and basically just let me spout off my self diagnosis, glanced at my throat, and wrote me a prescription for amoxicillian. (Hopefully, the self diagnosis was correct).

We then come to the second part of the problem in that I still haven’t gotten my insurance card and you have to have an insurance card- you can’t just give them numbers. Therefore, this little quicky visit cost me $175.

Yes, you read that right. $175 for a prescription because, let’s kid no one, there was no diagnosis/ consultation here.

Which, hopefully, my insurance will reimburse some of. But it made me feel HORRIBLE for the people who were there who clearly had no other choice. And, I mean, these weren’t even really the people who have no choice- these people could afford the ridiculous $175 fee. But that doesn’t mean that they deserve to be ripped off and get substandard care.

Now clearly I can afford this if they make me pay it myself, although it will make me cranky and will mean that the black slouchy bag for work that I was going to treat myself to remains in my dreams and not my hands. But the whole thing just makes me mad. I don’t understand why these situations are getting lost in the healthcare debate and why people are obsessing over abortion again. I don’t understand why people are clinging so desperately to a system that is broken and has been broken for a long time under the guise of personal choice. And I know how lucky I am to have insurance, and relatively decent insurance at that, but I’m tired of paying outrageous premiums for insurance that will only cover 90 percent if I get sick or am in an accident.** I really thought Obama had the balls to say “screw you” to the insurance companies, even it meant only being a one-term president, if it meant real change. Apparently he’s just another interchangeable politician though.

Sigh.

*this is where you insert the boyfriend gloating somewhat annoyingly because you know what his halloween costume was? Man on couch in sweats watching the Yankees. Because he is too cool for halloween.
**although, don’t get me wrong, I am extremely happy that this insurance will pay for my birth control without turning into a huge big deal (I’m looking at you g.town and your draconian big-brother-esque policy of denying birth control coverage to employees because of the church. I don’t need you to decide which prescriptions I can have in order to save my soul. I can do that on my own thank.you.very.much).

